With the start of the National Education Policy, the Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) emphasizes on transforming assessment for optimizing learning and development of all students with a focus on the following:

Assessment at SVIS:

  • Be regular, formative and competency-based,
  • Promote learning and development of students,
  • Focus on ‘assessment for learning’,
  • Test higher-order skills (analysis, critical thinking and conceptual clarity etc.),
  • Help entire schooling system in revising continuously teaching-learning processes to optimize learning.

This pattern would help the new 5+3+3+4 system with a more seamless and inclusive transition from the pre-school ages right to the higher classes.

The four learning stages of NEP are:

  • Foundational stage (5 Years- three years of pre-primary school, followed by grades 1 and 2)
  • Preparatory stage (3 Years – grades 3, 4 and 5),
  • Middle stage (3 Years – grades 6, 7 and 8)
  • Secondary stage (4 Years – grades 9, 10, 11 and 12).

Semester system: Academic Year is divided into two semesters with fairly uniform division in the syllabus. The CCE pattern comprises of two different tests—the formative and the  summative.  

      The formative tests include work experience skills, innovation, steadiness, teamwork, public speaking, behaviour, student’s class performance, classwork presentation, submission of homework& projects assigned, and their active participation in various activities conducted in class. This pattern of assessment helps to evaluate and present an overall measure of student’s ability. Marks are replaced by grades and evaluated through a series of curricular & extra-curricular activities along with academics.

      The Summative hastwo written tests to test the academic insight of the student, one at the end of each semester.

  • Formative Assessment  has a weightage of 40% of the aggregate.
  • Summative Assessment  has a weightage of 60% of the aggregate.